Group Training Organisation (GTO) Recruitment Program and Apprenticeship Completion Incentive Program

Description

The Department, through Training Services NSW, is responsible for the administration and management of the following two programs (the Programs):

  • Group Training Organisation (GTO) Recruitment Program, and
  • Apprenticeship Completion Incentive Program.

The GTO Recruitment Program provides funding to GTOs to recruit, screen, induct and refer 15-40 year old people to Partner Providers to undertake pre-apprenticeship training, with a view that the participants will enter into a Training Contract on completion of the pre-apprenticeship training.
The Program allows students to:

  • familiarise themselves with vocational choices and the requirements of the workplace
  • receive support and advice from a GTO and Partner Provider to assess whether a particular type of pre-apprenticeship is suitable; prior to committing to an apprenticeship;
  • undertake pre-apprenticeship training;
  • receive mentoring and assistance to complete their pre-apprenticeship training and where possible, transition into an apprenticeship or further education.

The Apprenticeship Completion Incentive Program provides GTOs with a $1,000 payment for each apprentice (up to a maximum cap) who completes an apprenticeship on or before 30 June 2020.


Aims

The Programs aim to achieve:

  • over 800 commencements in pre-apprenticeship training across NSW
  • greater than 85% completion rate in pre-apprenticeship training
  • greater than 50% transition rate into apprenticeships, traineeships and/or further education, and
  • over 750 Apprenticeship Completions by 30 June 2020.

How to participate

To be eligible to participate in the Programs:

GTO Eligibility

To be eligible to participate in the Programs, a GTO must:

  • be a registered GTO in NSW under the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Act 2001 and maintain its registration
  • have been engaged in either the previous GTO Pre Apprenticeship and Pre Traineeship Training Partnering Program or the Apprenticeship Completion Incentive Program (2016-2019)
  • support an industry which employs apprentices or trainees in NSW
  • be registered for the Goods and Services Tax (GST), and
  • have the capacity to employ apprentices or trainees in NSW.

The Department will determine if a GTO is eligible in its absolute discretion.

Partner Provider Eligibility and Role

The role of the Partner Provider is to:

  • comply with its Smart and Skilled Contract;
  • accept referred students from GTOs;
  • develop suitable training programs for students resulting in credentials when they progress into an apprenticeship or traineeship;
  • submit a TNI application to Training Services NSW Regional Office(s) for approximately 4-6 units of competency of pre-apprenticeship training which does not exceed the first year of the apprenticeship;
  • notify the GTO that the Department has offered an Activity Schedule for the training. The Partner Provider must accept the Activity Schedule, and follow the process for student enrolments and reporting student Training Activity Data;
  • obtain a student declaration that provides consent to share information;
  • develop and maintain a record of the Training Plan that complies with the Apprenticeship and Traineeship Act 2001;
  • provide, or assist with, other support services such as attending information sessions, participant selection, work placement, mentoring support, post course placement into a Training Contract and advice to students;
  • work collaboratively with the GTOs to ensure training needs are met;
  • complete any pre-apprenticeship training by 30 June 2020;
  • enable the pre-apprenticeship training to support a declared apprenticeship or traineeship vocation in NSW; and
  • ensure that training for eligible students will not incur a student fee as per the Targeted Priorities Prevocational and Part Qualifications Program Provider Guidelines.

Student Eligibility

The following people are eligible for pre-apprenticeship training:

More information on the school leaving age.


Allocations

A GTO's Allocation for the pre-apprenticeship and completion programs is determined by:

  • a GTO’s capacity to achieve its proposed Target Allocations
  • previous performance under GTO programs funded by the Department and apprenticeship or traineeship commencements, retentions and completions
  • the Department’s budget
  • any relevant information the Department holds about the GTO, and
  • an ability to achieve Target Allocations by 30 June 2020.

GTO Recruitment Program

The Program consists of payment up to $1,900 per approved Target Allocation for pre-apprenticeship. This payment may include:

  • an initial payment of $700 per funded Target Allocation
  • a completion payment of $300 per student confirmed to have completed pre-apprenticeship training
  • a transition payment of $900 per student confirmed to have commenced in a registered Training Contract for an apprenticeship or traineeship.

The funding provided to GTOs may be used towards the employment of a project officer, additional advertising, engagement sessions, or other support to achieve an apprentice or trainee outcome.

 

Apprenticeship Completion Incentive Program

The Apprenticeship Completion Incentive Program consists of a payment of $1,000 for each apprenticeship completion (up to a maximum cap).

Please note: The Department will only pay a GTO on actual Apprenticeship Completions. An actual Apprenticeship Completion is when an Apprenticeship Training Contract achieves a status of Complete Proficiency on or before 30 June 2020.

Where to find training

For students and employers, view the Group Training Organisations below to contact and enquire about availability.

Apprentices Trainees Employment Limited

Trading name: Squad Employment and Training (Squad)

Kellie Howard
P: 02 6024 0800
E: kellie.howard@squad.com.au


Apprenticeships Are Us Limited

Trading name: MTA Apprentices Plus

Michael Wentworth
P: 02 9891 6900
E: mwentworth@mtaplus.com.au


ARC Group Training Ltd

Trading name: ARC Group

Mercina Markou
P: 02 8833 3999
E: mercina.markou@arcgroup.com.au


Australian Training Company Ltd

Jenny Rosman
P: 02 9704 1500
E: jrosman@austrg.com.au


Central Coast Group Training Ltd

Trading name: CCGT

Alison Cook
P: 02 4353 2655
E: alison.cook@ccgt.com.au


ECA Training Pty Ltd

Trading name: NECA Group Training

Tom Emeleus
P: 02 9744 2754
E: gm@necatraining.com.au


Electrotechnology Industry Group Training Company Ltd

Trading name: Electrogroup

Bob Carcary
P: 1300 837 513
E: bob.carcary@egt.com.au


HGT Australia Ltd

Trading name: Novaskill

Nikola Vercoe
P: 02 4906 6700
E: nikolav@novaskill.com.au


Hospitality Training Network Ltd

Trading name: HTN

Christine Zechowski
P: 07 3414 5902
E: czechowski@mrael.com.au


Housing Industry Association Ltd

Trading name: HIA Apprentices

Russell Holtham
P: 08 8340 5910
E: r.holtham@hia.com.au


Hume Employment Services Ltd

Trading name: Kestrel Apprentice Solutions

Paul Ingwersen
P: 1300 337 870
E: paul.ingwersen@kestrelrecruitment.com.au


HVTC Pty Ltd

Trading name: HVTC

Sharon Smith
P: 02 4932 4222
E: ssmith@hvtc.com.au


HunterNet Group Training Company Limited

Nick Couper
P: 02 4925 4484
E: nick@hunternet.com.au


Macarthur Group Training Ltd

Trading name: MG My Gateway

Shelley Bullock
P: 02 4627 1388
E: shelley.bullock@mygateway.org.au


Master Builders Association of NSW Pty Ltd

Trading name: MBA NSW

Karen Kellock
P: 02 8586 3533
E: kkellock@mbansw.asn.au


Master Plumbers Apprentices Limited

Trading name: MPA Training

Matthew Eschler
P: 02 8789 7050
E: matthew@masterplumbers.com.au


MIGAS Limited

Trading name: MIGAS

Cassandra Rowan
P: 07 3868 1815
E: crowan@migas.com.au


MPGTC Pty Ltd

Trading name: Master Painters Group Training Company Ltd

Therese Lauriola
P: 02 9758 8877
E: therese@masterpainters.com.au


My Freight Career Pty Ltd

Joe Meli
P: 02 9313 9777
E: joe@myfreightcareer.com.au


Programmed Skilled Workforce Limited

Connie Scardamaglia
P: 03 9565 5310
E: connie.scardamaglia@programmed.com.au


Recruitment Solutions Group Australia Pty Ltd

Trading name: Apprenticeship Careers Australia

Luke Radford
P: 1300 765 155
E: luke.radford@nswbc.com.au


Riverina Group Training and Employment Ltd

Trading name: GTES

Alison Coe
P: 02 6293 3019
E: acoe@gtes.com.au


Skillset Ltd

Trading name: Skillset

Sharon Bradley
P: 02 6330 1401
E: sharon.bradley@skillset.com.au


Sydney Training and Employment Ltd

Trading name: 1300apprentice

Kate Burnett
P: 02 9715 7344
E: k.burnett@1300apprentice.com.au


TABMA Workforce & Career Development Pty Ltd

Trading name: TABMA Apprentices & Trainees

David Little
P: 02 9377 3100
E: david.l@tabma.com.au


WPC Group Ltd

Trading name: WPC Group

Rebecca Maher
P: 03 9321 0828
E: rmaher@wpcgroup.org.au

Page last updated: 21 May 2021